COLCOA Critics Awards 2017


COLCOA is proud to partner with LAFCA for the COLCOA Critics Awards. The 2017 LAFCA Jury will give a Critics Award a Special Prize and a First Feature Award, by choosing among 30 new feature films in competition. 


Winners will be announced on Wednesday May 3rd in the morning.

LAFCA is a professional organization of Los Angeles-based film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Each year since its creation in 1975, LAFCA members honor outstanding cinematic achievements during their annual Achievement Awards ceremony in January. LAFCA also sponsors film events and donates funds to various Los Angeles film organizations. Since 2016, the president of the organization is Claudia Puig. 




Robert Abele


Robert Abele is a film and television critic/journalist whose work has appeared in The Los Angeles Times, LA Weekly, Variety, Premiere, DGA Quarterly, Emmy, The San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Post, The Dallas Morning News, Total Film and Playboy. A graduate of Southern Methodist University's film program and former theater critic, he is the co-author of the book, The Paramount Story, and has served on juries for the AFI Film Festival, the USA Film Festival and the PEN Center/USA West Literary Awards.



Jon Frosch


Jon Frosch is reviews editor and a film critic at the Hollywood Reporter. Before moving to Los Angeles for that job, he was film editor and critic at France 24 in Paris, where he started out as a general assignment reporter in 2009. Prior to that, he was an online editor and contributing writer at the International Herald Tribune (also in Paris) for four years. He has freelanced as a film critic and features writer for various publications, including The New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, The Atlantic, The Village Voice, The Stranger, Variety and Film Journal International. He holds a B.A. in English from Wesleyan University and an M.A. in French studies with a concentration in cinema from New York University.  



Mark Keiser


Mark Keizer is a senior film critic for Alt Film Guide. His previous outlets include Entertainment Today and L.A. Citybeat. He co-authored the book Ultimate DVD: The Essential Guide to Building Your DVD Collection, published by the Berkley Publishing Group. Currently, he’s co-host of the DVD DigiGods, a podcast available on iTunes and 

Keizer career also encompasses daytime talk, late night comedy, reality programs, game shows, variety shows, live news, and hidden camera. Most recently, Mark was Co-Executive Producer of Seasons 5 and 6 of Comedy Central’s The Man Show, hosted by Joe Rogan (Fear Factor) and Doug Stanhope. Mark’s work on The Man Show was the culmination of an overall deal with Stone-Stanley Entertainment, in which he oversaw development of the SpikeTV reality hit, Joe Schmo. Also for Stone-Stanley Entertainment, he served as Co-Executive Producer of the Animal Planet hidden camera comedy special Animal Pranksters

Keizer’s daytime duties include Supervising Producer of the syndicated talkfest The Roseanne Show. Other talk show producing credits include The Late, Late Show with Tom Snyder



Bob Koehler


Robert Koehler is a film critic for Variety, and contributes criticism to Cinema Scope and Cineaste film journals and the Christian Science Monitor. A former theater critic for the Los Angeles Times, he has also written reviews, articles and essays for a number of publications including Cahiers du Cinema and Die Tageszeitung. Koehler is a member of FIPRESCI and has served on juries at various festivals including Cannes, Vancouver, Buenos Aires, Slamdance, Guadalajara, Palm Springs, Los Angeles Latino, San Francisco Latino and Bermuda. His occasional blogs on cinema can be read at As a member of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, he serves on the Experimental/Independent award committee, which annually recommends to LAFCA membership the best experimental or independent film that screened in Los Angeles during the past year. He also serves on LAFCA’s Disbursement committee, which plans disbursement of funds. As a programmer for LAFCA’s sponsored ongoing film series, “The Films That Got Away,” Koehler has programmed several films, from Peter Watkins’ “La Commune” to Lisandro Alonso’s “Los Muertos” and Jacques Rivette’s “Out 1,” in cooperation with the UCLA Film Archive, American Cinematheque, Filmforum and the Los Angeles Film Festival. He is currently working on a contribution to an anthology on contemporary cinema.


Luke E. Thompson


First published at the age of 10 when one of his poems was printed in a children's book in Ireland, Luke Y. Thompson had been an unofficial film critic for friends and family for many years before writing for the underground 'zines AteBall and his own KnifEdge, the latter of which caught the attention of the editors at the Los Angeles New Times in 1999, who were looking for a fresh perspective. Initially syndicated throughout all the New Times publications, his audience expanded with the merger of New Times and Village Voice, and he ultimately landed at the OC Weekly. LYT has a degree in film production from USC, and has won L.A. Press Club Awards for work done at the old New Times Los Angeles, an honorable mention award (2005) and second-place award (2006) for his online blog, and an honorable mention in 2007 for entertainment reviews/criticism at OC Weekly (the only film critic nominated in that category). Known to dye his hair odd colors as a cheap publicity stunt, and fond of sitting front-row-center.


Ella Taylor


Ella Taylor is a film critic and staff writer for A former television critic and an academic who taught media sociology at the University of Washington in Seattle, she teaches film courses at USC and has written for the Atlantic Monthly, Mirabella Magazine, The New York Times, and the Boston Globe Magazine among other publications.




Ann Lee Ellingson

John Oppenheimer

Claudia Puig

Chcuk Wilson 


Lael Loewenstein 

Michael Nordine

Jean Oppenheimer

Alynda Wheat

Chuck Wilson 



Andrew Barker

Tim Cogshell

Ann Lee Ellingson

Robert Koehler

Henry Sheehan


Lael Loewenstein (PRESIDENT)

Justin Chang

Wade Major

Jean Oppenheimer

Chuck Wilson



Christy Lemire (PRESIDENT)

Andrew Barker

Annlee Ellingson

Todd Gilchrist

Ella Taylor



Peter Debruge (PRESIDENT)

David Ehrenstein

Mark Olsen

Justin Lowe

Henry Sheehan



Jean Oppenheimer (PRESIDENT)

Tim Grierson

Sheri Linden

Wade Major

Brent Simon




Peter Debruge

Andy Klein

Christy Lemire

Amy Nicholson



Wade Major (PRESIDENT)

Scott Foundas

Mike Goodridge

Jean Oppenheimer

Claudia Puig